Collard Green Chips

Potato Chips are always something that sound good to me in theory, but the moment I pop one into my mouth I am reminded that I really don’t much care for them. Isn’t that how a lot of cravings are? You crave pickles for their crispness and they just aren’t crunchy enough. You crave chocolate for their “velvety-ness” and they aren’t velvety enough. You crave a chick-flick and you didn’t cry hard enough. Ahem, *cough cough* who’s talking about chick-flicks?! But, really potato chips aren’t what they are cracked up to be, in my taste anyway. They are too heavy and rich and I can only eat about five and then I’m done, give me something else.

collardgreeninfo

My dad was raving about kale chips that one of his buddies at work was chowing down on. After a bit of searching online collard green chips was something that my mother had stumbled upon as a alternative to kale chips and sent my way. Apparently, kale is out of season right now? So, collard green chips it was, a healthy substitute for potato chips.

DSC_0990

Collard Green Chips

These chips were extremely easy to make! Only three ingredients needed; collard greens, olive oil and salt. When I put my first batch in the oven and had to turn the leaves I was met with a brussel sprout smell, which really turned me off for a moment. Brussel sprouts and I have a bad past. But, when I tried the end result I was pleased. I felt they tasted oddly like bagel chips. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

3-4 leaves collard greens
1 tsp olive oil
pinch of salt

collardgreenssteps

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Wash the collard greens in cool water and pat dry
  2. Cut the greens from the thick stem
  3. Double what you just cut away from the stem and cut into square-like pieces
  4. Put the leaves into a large bowl. When all your leaves are cut toss with 1 teaspoon of olive oil and pinch of salt
  5. Place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and bake for 5 minutes. Flip the leaves and bake for another 5 minutes. Don’t let them become yellow or brown, they will yield a bitter after taste. Not yum! Bake until they are just crispy. You will have to keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t yellow so don’t stray too far from the oven.

Enjoy!

Well, what do you think? Leave a comment!

