Buttermilk Cornbread

Thursdays are a pretty good day.  For one, it’s the day I get to come home and sleep in my own real bed after spending the night out in Ilave on a mattress on the floor.  Secondly, I get to spend time with a family that’s heart is being touched by God’s hand daily.  Seeing their growth is humbling and a reminder for why I’m here.  Thirdly, two Thursdays from now it will be… (drumroll please)… The Handicapped Kitchen’s One Year Anniversary!

Wow, I can’t believe it’s almost been a year since I’ve started this blog.  In another year, I will be at home with my family celebrating Thanksgiving together.  That’s a lovely thought, and also something that keeps me moving forward.

I assume that what you are here for is this buttermilk cornbread.  I will admit, I had never had homemade cornbread until I came here to Peru.  Before this, it was always Jiffy cornbread mixes, which even after having homemade cornbread, retain their high-status as da-bomb.

This cornbread is what Amanda, our house-mother, makes on just about every single Sunday.  One time, she added about double the butter by accident and the result was pretty much pre-butter pieces of cornbread.  Not a bad mistake.  Amanda… how do I explain who she is.  She and Chad are our support parents.  They take care of finances and more logistical stuff as the rest of us go out to work.  You can check out her blog at http://www.arosetta.blogspot.com/  So, along side of her very busy days, Amanda makes dinner for us four times a day.  She’s the real hero in the kitchen here!  She’s in the handicapped kitchen more than I am.  Give Amanda a thanks for all her hard work!

And really, with Thanksgiving right around the corner, this is the perfect thing to shove somewhere into the oven along side the turkey, sweet potato casserole, stuffing, dinner rolls… oh dear, it seems you might have to buy a super-wide oven.  This bread is moist and still has that awesome cornbread denseness that I love.  Give this a try!  And like The Handicapped Kitchen on Facebook while you’re at it!

Here’s the recipe

Buttermilk Cornbread
from Allrecipes

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup cornmeal
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease the pan.
Melt butter in large skillet. Remove from heat and stir in sugar. Quickly add eggs and beat until well blended. Combine buttermilk with baking soda and stir into mixture in pan. Stir in cornmeal, flour, and salt until well blended and few lumps remain. Pour batter into the prepared pan.
Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  

6 thoughts on “Buttermilk Cornbread

  1. I love Thursdays too…My husband’s day off from work. I always look forward to Thursdays too, so I can spend time with my family. I make sure to prepare extra special meals during this favorite day. I am thinking this Buttermilk Corn Bread needs to be in my next recipes to do list.
    By the way, is that jam on top? Can’t wait to try…

  2. Made this yesterday to go with my chili. I used honey in place of the sugar. It was great! Thanks for sharing and allowing me to share as well (as I linked this recipe on my blog)

Well, what do you think? Leave a comment!

