Apple Fig Caramel Death By Pie

My mother would kill me, kill me, kill me if I ever put up our family apple pie recipe on the internet.  Don’t worry Mom!  This is not our secret pie!  This is my new pie!

Let’s be totally honest here.  I mean, we’re cool, right?  Pies are not the hardest things in the world.  There might be a ton of folk that tell you otherwise, but once you get the crust down…

DSC_0170

So, when Chad brought back a bag of figs from the market for the family, I knew I had to try a pie with them… with apples.  And what, I thought, would be more heavenly that drizzling the thing in Caramel Comfort Sauce.  Apple pie, by far, is my favorite pie.  Knowing I couldn’t post my mother’s pie here, I had to try something new!  Figs and caramel are definitely not in my mom’s pie.  I’m off the hook!

DSC_0136

I found a perfect crust.  I’ll tell you about it in a sec, I swear.  This crust, is so delicious, and you would never believe it, but yes, it’s easy to handle.  Seriously, I’m not kidding you, either I’m some kind of pie crust god, or this is just the pie crust you’ve been dreaming of.  So, when you try this out… you’ll have to tell me if I’m a god or not.  Don’t worry, you won’t hurt my ego.

I had two helpers in the kitchen when I made this pie, who both had just gotten up from their naps.  I present Mr. Thomas and Miss Ella:

DSC_0124 DSC_0131
They did so well, until they got bored and decided to watch Finding Nemo… which the shark parts were too scary for Thomas.

Buttermilk Pie Crust
via Joy the Baker

2 1/2 cups flour
1 cup butter/shortening (cold cold cold cold)
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup buttermilk (cold cold cold cold)

Mix together in a bowl the flour, sugar and salt.  Then, cut in your butter with the classy fork, pastry mixer, food processor etc., until you have what resembles course crumbs.

Handicap: I don’t have buttermilk.  I don’t even know what the name for it is in Spanish let alone if they even produce it in Peru… which if they did it would be expensive.  But fear not!  Buttermilk can be substituted as such.  For each cup of regular milk at 1 tbsp of white vinegar.  Works like a charm and that’s exactly what I did.

Mix in the buttermilk until you have until your dough forms into a ball.  The key, my mother always says, to making good crust is using cold cold cold cold cold cold cold ingredients.  Got it?

Let sit in the fridge for an hour… says Joy, but I did less time and it turned out fine.  I think I need to turn our fridge down.  It’s way too cold, but I love the ice crystals I get in my milk.

DSC_0100 DSC_0102
DSC_0107 DSC_0110

Then roll out your dough so it will fit in your pie pan.  To get the dough from the counter into your pan it’s best to fold the dough over itself in half then, pick up the half and place it in your pie pan so that when you unfold it your dough is neatly in place, right where you want it.

If my directions don’t explain this clearly enough, click the link above that says Joy the Baker and her advice might help you better.

Filling

1 1/4 cup sugar (separated)
3-4 cups preferably McIntosh Apples… anything but red delicious I suppose (peeled and sliced)
about 1/4 cup Caramel Comfort Sauce
1/4 cup figs (the red flesh)
cinnamon for dusting on top

Remember when I said that once you get past the crust pies are really easy?  Well, as I promised it is!  Dump in 1 cup of sugar on the bottom then nicely lay out the apples inside so you can have the maximum amount fit inside the pie.  Then on top of the apples spread over the red flesh of the figs and sprinkle with the 1/4 cup sugar.  Then, over everything, drizzle the caramel sauce.  To top everything off dust with cinnamon.  Don’t go to heavy on it, or you will be sorry!  Use the same technique for the bottom crust as the top.  Fold in half and lift off!

DSC_0138 DSC_0140
DSC_0144 DSC_0145

Put her in the oven at 350F.  I create a foil tray with the sides folded up to create a boil-over catching pan.  It makes for easy clean-up, because you know this pie is done when it boils over and you have a sugary-goo mess on your foil tray.  Also, check to see how tender your apples are with a fork.  If they’re nice and soft, that’s a good sign too.  Careful, sugar does tend to smoke quite a bit, if that burns don’t think your pie is burning too.  It should take from 45 minutes to 1.5 hours to make this baby.  I swear, she’s a delicious one!

DSC_0158

DSC_0168

9 thoughts on “Apple Fig Caramel Death By Pie

  1. This sounds like a truly wonderful filling! I still haven’t really mastered crust yet so I try to stay away from pies but I think I’m going to have to face my fears in the new year. This looks too good to stay away from!

    • Joanne, I totally believe in you. You can do it! Get your local high school’s cheer-leading squad in your kitchen to get you pepped! Tell me how it goes!

  2. Trevor, I just put an apple pie in the oven when I sat down to read my Facebook…THEN I read your recipe. Maybe next time I can make your pie…minus the figs. Maybe I’ll go back and make the caramel sauce for MY pie.
    Thanks for these delish recipes. ((((HUGS)))) and prayers.

  3. How do you get your crust crimped so perfectly?! I have tried and tried and tried and it never looks great! (and you know how I like things just so!!)

  4. I love figs but never thought of putting them in a pie, it looks delicious. Thank you for the pie crust recipe as well. I have one I use all the time but the buttermilk sounds like it might give a nice flavor, I’ll have to try it!

Well, what do you think? Leave a comment!

