Apple-Cinnamon Scones

Bon Jour!  I love languages.  I’m currently teaching myself French.  J’aime le Francais.  Oui oui!  If you cannot not take yourself seriously, then you may have some trouble learning a language.  What’s the number one attitude needed in learning a language?  Humility.  You make a ton of mistakes and people will look at you like you’re an idiot.  You will say things like, “You’re mom is a fat cow,” when you really want to say, “You’re mom makes great cheesecake.”  People will cry.  You will cry.  You will have a black eye and that’s why you cry.  But, it’s all for the sake of learning the beauty of another language.  So, if you want to learn a language, just know, you will never save face.  You, in fact, do the exact opposite.

DSC_0050

I’ve only ever had one scone before I had these.  It was a tad on the dry side and then sat in the backseat of my ‘94 Mercury Cougar (yea, I was so pimpin’) until I found it a few months later moldy and crumbly.  It wasn’t the best experience to have for my first scone.  But, as a baker, I thought for sure scones would not be a popular as they are if they really were not that good!  I devised to try to make these Apple Cinnamon Scones!

You’ll notice I cut some of the shapes into hearts.  That’s because it was a month ago that I made these and am now just posting the entry.  Wow.  I’m such a great blogger.  If you saw me right now you’d scread, “Holy crap!  Go back to bed!”  But, that just shows you the dedication right now.  I hope that makes up for it.

DSC_0003

Apple-Cinnamon Scones

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup apple, chopped
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (I did not use these for two reasons… EXPENSIVE and I don’t like them)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 whole egg
  • A handful of sugar (for topping)
  • cinnamon to taste (for topping)
  • In a large bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and cinnamon.  Then, cut in the butter using a pastry mixer, or if you’re out of luck and don’t have such heavenly utensilry like me you can use a plain ol’ heavy duty fork.  Cut in the butter until the mixture looks like coarse crumbs.

    You can cut up the apples now, or have them cut up before hand.  I thought about grating the apples, but I worry for my fingers.  When your apples are cut up into small cubes mix them in the dry ingredients, along with the walnuts if you decide to go that way.

    In a small bowl mix the egg yolk (set the egg white aside for later) and milk well with a whisk.  Then, add that to the dry ingredients just until the dry ingredients are moist.  You don’t want super sticky dough.

    Lightly flour your working surface and roll the dough out to 1/2” thickness.  If you want round scones use a round biscuit cutter or cookie cutter.  But, if you don’t want to have to reroll the dough out, which can be a pain, separate the dough into four sections and form them so they are round.  Flatten them down a bit and cut each into four pieces so you should have 16 in total.

    DSC_0038

    In another small bowl mix the egg white with a whole egg (no good reason for the extra egg white, just wanted to cut down on waste) and in another small bowl mix the handful of sugar and some cinnamon.  You can taste the sugar cinnamon mix to see if it has enough cinnamon in it.

    Dip each scone in the egg mixture and then the sugar mixture and place 2 inches apart on a baking sheet and bake at 400 F for 20-22 minutes.  They are soooo good fresh out of the oven.

    DSC_0052

    One thought on “Apple-Cinnamon Scones

    Well, what do you think? Leave a comment!

    